2 responses

  1. Hi Helen,

    Loved your website describing the building of the boat.
    I feel that this has filled in a big gap in my personal knowledge ‘timline’, but can you tell me:

    You say “The larger skins had to be sown together using traditional methods”
    Surely they would not have had metal needles?
    What would they have used?

    Do you think the later settlers, after the English Channel had formed, would have come over from France in boats like this?
    (At least initially, before refined plank-making and metal tools?)

    Thanks,
    John

    • Dear John,

      Sorry for the delay in replying to your email, I’ve just handed in my PhD, so sadly have neglected my internet correspondence!

      I’m glad you enjoyed the blog post. Yes we did sew the skins together, we did used metal needles, those that are generally used to sew leather, however in the mesolithic they would have used bone needles to sew skins for their boats and other things such as clothing.

      I think there would have been settlers coming across the channel in these type of boats, I also think that they would have crossed the North sea as well into places like Scotland from Scandinavia.

      I hope I have been able to answer some of your questions, please let me know if you have any others and I’ll try and get back to you quicker this time!

      Best wishes
      Helen

Leave a Reply

